List of NCAA Division I men’s basketball champions

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament is a single-elimination Championship for men’s college basketball teams in the United States.

It determines the winner of Division I, the very best level of play at the NCAA, and the press frequently describes the winner because the national champion of college basketball. [2][3] The NCAA Tournament has been held yearly since 1939, and its field grew from eight teams at the start to sixty-five teams by 2001; as of 2011, sixty-eight teams take part in the tournament. Teams can gain invitations by winning a conference tournament or receiving an at-large bid from a 10-person committee. The semifinals of this championship are known as the Final Four and are held at a different city each year, along with the championship game; Indianapolis, the town in which the NCAA is based, will host the Final Four every five years before 2040. Each winning college receives a rectangular, gold-plated trophy made of wood.
The first NCAA Tournament was organized by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. Oregon won the inaugural championship, beating Ohio State 46–33 from the first championship game. Before the 1941 tournament, control of this occasion was given to the NCAA. From the early years of the championship, it was considered less important compared to the National Invitation Tournament (NIT), a New York City-based event. ] Teams could compete in both events in precisely the exact same year, and three of these that did thus –Utah at 1944, Kentucky in 1949, and City College of New York (CCNY) in 1950–won the NCAA Tournament. The 1949–50 CCNY team won both tournaments (beating Bradley in both finals), and is the only college basketball team to accomplish this feat. [14] By the mid-1950s, the NCAA Championship became the prestigious of the two occasions, and in 1971 the NCAA barred universities out of playing in other championships, like the NIT, if they were invited into the NCAA Championship. The 2013 championship won by Louisville was the very first men’s basketball national name to be vacated by the NCAA after the faculty and its coach at the moment, Rick Pitino, were implicated in a 2015 sex scandal involving recruits.
The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) has been the most successful faculty from the NCAA Tournament, winning 11 national titles. Ten of these championships came through a 12-year stretch from 1964 to 1975. UCLA also holds the record for the successive championships, winning seven in a row from 1967 to 1973. Kentucky gets the second-most names, with eight. North Carolina is next with six championships, while Duke and Indiana follow with five each. Virginia is the most recent champion, having defeated Texas Tech in the closing of the 2019 tournament. One of head trainers, John Wooden is your all-time leader with 10 championships; he also coached UCLA during their period of succeeding from the 1960s and 1970s. Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski is second one time with five titles.

Read more here: